School Logo

Welcome to Whitstone Community Primary

Learn, Grow and Achieve Together

Google Translate

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Curriculum  

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is divided into two main areas: The Prime Areas of Learning and The Specific Areas of learning. Each area is divided into sub categories. The Prime Areas of learning are vitally important as these provide the basic systems and foundations which are essential to support learning in all the other areas. 


The Prime Areas of Learning:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Communication and Language

Physical Development


The Specific Areas of Learning:


Understanding of the World

Expressive Arts and Design



We teach the children using a topic based, creative approach which enables the children to make strong links between areas of learning.


The topics fully capture the children’s imaginations and foster a love of learning through exciting learning experiences prompted by rich resources, along with an inquiry approach to learning.


In the Foundation Stage we also follow the children’s own interests and build on these in our planned activities to ensure learning is tailored to meet the needs of the children.